University News

Juniors receive Phi Beta Kappa honors

University News Editor
Friday, February 22, 2013

Thirty-five juniors were elected to the Rhode Island Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Feb. 12, Chapter Administrator Mary Jo Foley wrote in an email to The Herald. Founded at the College of William and Mary in 1776, Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest academic honor society in the United States, and becoming a member is generally considered one of the most prestigious undergraduate awards. The Brown chapter — founded in 1830 — is the seventh-oldest of the 270 chapters in existence. The members of the class of 2014 who were inducted include:

Vivianne Lynne Andersen

Aparna Bansal, a Herald senior editor

Lena Mariel Barsky

Bryn Boyce Bliska

Trevor Sheldon Covey

Reva Dhingra

Ryan Samad Din

Wesley Michael Durand

Nathaniel Benson Edwards

Amelia Carmen Friedman

Michael Robert Galant

Michael Modesto Gale

Zoe Lawson Henry, a former Herald copy editor

Kelvin Charles P. Jackson

Garret Michael Johnson, former Herald opinions editor

Kamna Kathuria

Austin Carter Lillywhite

Nicholas Alexander Lourie

Ryan Roberts McKeown

Lan Mei

Lorenzo Moretti

Kuleen Nimkar

Patrick Liam O’Neill

Elijah John Petzold

Devon May Reynolds

J Young Seol

Alan Shan

Zal Kotval Shroff

Carmen Marie Sobczak

Jonathan Michael Storch

Daniel Egan Tatar

Sophie Eugenie Van Horne

Nathaniel Thomas Wardwell

Katherine Brenda Xiong

Clifton Guo C. Yeo