University News

Phi Beta Kappa elects 33 juniors

Senior Staff Writer
Friday, February 14, 2014

Thirty-three juniors were elected to the Rhode Island Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa Wednesday, Chapter Administrator Mary Jo Foley wrote in an email to The Herald. Phi Beta Kappa is the oldest academic honors organization in the country. The award is widely recognized as one of the nation’s most prestigious academic honors. Brown’s chapter is the seventh-oldest of the 283 eligible to elect students to Phi Beta Kappa. The members of the class of 2015 who were selected include:


Meher Siddique Ali, a former Herald staff writer

Brett Joseph Anders

Tara Avril-Tucker

Rudy Wu Chen

Beatrix Ping Chu

Mara Amelia Freilich

Hannah Rose Gribetz

Mathias Fitzgibbons Heller, a Herald managing editor

Elaine Yi-Ning Hsiang

Abishek Kumar Kulshreshtha

Matthew Dongwoo Lee

Roderick Davis Macfarlane

Patrick Keenan Maiden

Alexander Philip Mechanick

Adam Mitchell Morris

Alexander Gray Moskowitz

Dieu Hoa Thi Nguyen

Kate Ilana Nussenbaum, a Herald senior editor

Eli Madison Okun, the Herald editor-in-chief and president

Sora Myong Park, a former Herald contributing writer

Sabin Hana Ray

Caroline Augusta Saine, a former Herald senior staff writer

Stephen Michael Sarno Jr.

Eleanor Gorsuch Siden

Sarah Elizabeth Tropp

Alexandra Downs Urban, a Herald staff photographer

Aaron Dobrow Vale

Jing Wang

Alexander Scott Warstadt

Adam Nathan Waters

Jacob Philip Weber

Christopher Timothy Wong

Bartosz Zerebecki