Topic: Faculty award

(Top to bottom) John Papay, Matthew Kraft, Kenneth Wong and Susanna Loeb were recognized in the 2019 Rick Hess Straight Up Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings.

News, University News

University professors recognized for influence in education policy

January 27, 2019 0 comments

University professors Susanna Loeb, Kenneth Wong, Matthew Kraft and John Papay were named in the 2019 Rick Hess Straight Up Edu-Scholar Public Influence Rankings Jan. 9.

Carlos Vargas-Irwin’s $1.5 million award will benefit BrainGate, a program that aims to research paralysis and other movement disorders.

News, Science & Research

Neuroscience professor receives $1.5 million to study sensory information

October 14, 2018 0 comments

The fields of neuroscience and neurotechnology have been growing in recent years as researchers hope to understand the inner workings of the human species’ most puzzling organ: the brain.

Professors Tim Kraska, Constantine Dafermos, Joseph Braun, Susan Moffitt, Vincent Mor and Maurice Herlihy received their awards at a ceremony April 19. The awards honored both senior and early-career faculty.

News, Science & Research

Inaugural research awards recognize University faculty members

April 25, 2017 0 comments

The University honored six faculty members for their research with the inaugural Brown Research Achievement Awards April 19.

Computer science professor selected as Sloan Fellow

News, University News

Computer science professor selected as Sloan Fellow

March 22, 2017 0 comments

For the fourth year in a row, a faculty member in the computer science department has been awarded the Sloan Research Fellowship.

Jesse Shapiro explains his research quantifying the growing separation between liberal and conservative discourse from 1873 to 2009 as part of the Presidential Award Lecture Series.

University News

Professor talks polarizing political language

October 26, 2016 0 comments

Professor of Economics and recipient of the fall 2016 Presidential Faculty Award Jesse Shapiro delivered the Presidential Faculty Lecture Tuesday night.