Topic: Honorary Degrees

The honorary degree recipients are Sheryl Brissett Chapman '71, Ken Burns, John Krasinski '01, Joan Wernig Sorensen '72 P'06, E. Paul Sorensen '71 MS'75 PhD'77 P'06, David M. Rubenstein and Jennifer Anne Richeson '94 (clockwise from top left to bottom left).

News, University News

Honorary degree recipients 2019

May 24, 2019 0 comments

Seven individuals will receive an honorary degree from the University at the 251st Commencement May 26. John Krasinski ’01 will serve as the Baccalaureate speaker May 25.

Krasinski, Burns, to earn honorary degrees

News, University News

Krasinski, Burns, to earn honorary degrees

April 24, 2019 0 comments

At Commencement on May 26, President Paxson P’19 will confer honorary doctorates on seven individuals distinguished in their fields.

Letters to the Editor, Opinions

Letter: Don’t rescind honorary degrees

September 6, 2018 1 comment

Self-described “non-donating” alum Nicholas Morley ’13 raised engaging questions about the nature of honorary degrees in a May 18 Herald op-ed entitled “Rescind Junot Díaz’s Honorary Doctorate,” but as a donating alum, I would humbly suggest that the University steer clear of revoking such distinctions.

The 2016 honorary degree recipients include Angus Deaton, a Nobel Prize winner, and Antonia Hernández, an activist for underprivileged groups.

University News

University to offer honorary degrees to scholars, artists

April 28, 2016 0 comments

The University recently announced its selection of eight scholars and intellectuals to be given honorary degrees this May.