Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.

Winners of the 2014 Alfred H. Joslin Award were announced Wednesday. The award is given annually to 10 to 12 seniors to recognize their contributions to the quality of life of Brown through their leadership and involvement, according to the Office of Campus Life and Student Services’ website. The selection process evaluates nominees on the basis of character, involvement on and off campus and community impact, according to the OCL’s website.

“The selection committee is made up of 10 administrators, primarily from various Campus Life departments that work closely with students, in addition to a staff member from the Creative Arts Center and from the Swearer Center,” Ricky Gresh, director for campus life projects, wrote in an email to The Herald.

Nominations for the award, which were due earlier this month, can be made by any member of the Brown community. This year the committee saw a 25 percent increase in the number of students nominated, most likely due to a new online nomination form, Gresh wrote. Winners represent many areas of campus life, including Class Board, Swearer Center programs and performance arts, Gresh wrote.

This year, the committee chose two students, Hanna McPhee ’14 and Michelle Site ’14, for a “team award” for their initiative called STEAM at Brown that connects science and art projects, he wrote.

The award is named after Alfred Joslin ’36, a judge and former member of the Corporation, the University’s highest governing body. Recipients will be honored in a ceremony May 23.


This year’s recipients are:

Amelia Friedman

Saudi Garcia

Rafael Jaeger

Jesse McGelughlin

Hanna McPhee

Christine Moon

Oyeleye Odewunmi

Sarah Presant

Andrew Silverman

Michelle Site

Kimberly Takahata

Yen Tran


A previous version of this article incorrectly referred to the name of a student-led organization as Brown Stream. The organization is called STEAM at Brown. The Herald regrets the error.



Powered by SNworks Solutions by The State News
All Content © 2024 The Brown Daily Herald, Inc.